America University of Malta Historical Background

America University of Malta Historical Background

Visit Admissions for Universities and Colleges in Malta for Details on Admissions to other Institutions

AUM is a private university founded by Mr. Hani Salah and Sadeen Education Investment Ltd. The Sadeen Group was committed to establishing a university on the American model that would deliver a university education of the highest international standards. After high level discussion it was determined that the Republic of Malta would be the right location for the university. After a rigorous review process of all aspects of the proposed university, including its planned physical plant, academics, and financing, the American University of Malta was officially born on 16 September, 2016, with the issuing of its license and accreditation (License Number 2016-002) by the National Commission for Future and Higher Education of Malta.


At that point AUM began to plan for its opening in fall 2017, with the acceptance of its first cohort of matriculating undergraduate and graduate students. AUM begins in fall 2017 with a small number of degree programs, and the number of programs, students, faculty, and staff will grow quickly over the ensuing several years.


AUM will begin operations at the historic Dock 1 site in Bormla, Malta, in the renovated British Building, a site that was used by the British for its naval operations. In subsequent years the university will make use of the renovated Knights Building and other new sites at Dock 1. In addition, AUM will have an entirely new, purpose-built campus in a beautiful site overlooking the Mediterranean Sea in the town of Marsaskala, in the Southeast of the island of Malta, not far from Bormla. The Marsaskala campus is planned to open for the 2020 academic year.


AUM expects within several years to occupy fully both Dock 1, which will hold the School of Business and the School of Architecture and Design, and the Marsaskala campus, which will be the home of the Schools of Arts and Sciences, Engineering, and Information Technology, as well as residence halls, the university’s main library, and other academic and student support facilities.

 See Also