MCAST Diploma in ICT

MCAST Diploma in ICT

MCAST Diploma in ICT
Course Code IT3-01-16
MQF Level Level 3
Duration 1 year full-time
Awarding Body MCAST
Entry Requirements MCAST Foundation Certificate


2 SEC/O-Level passes/SSC&P (Level 3) passes

Compulsory: one subject from Mathematics, Computer Studies, Physics, BTEC IT Practitioner

Preferred: English Language


A full “Secondary School Certificate and Profile” (SSC&P) at Level 2 will be accepted in lieu of one (1) O-Level pass.


Other Entry Requirements
Course Description This course is the first step in a block of a three-year training programme, designed to provide the necessary skills to work in the computing industry.   The course is a pre-requisite for the follow up two-year Level 4 Extended Diploma programme.

At this level of study, students will be introduced to fundamental subjects in the networking, software development and multimedia areas.


Study/Course Delivery This programme of study addresses the competences required as entry level to the ICT sector. The achievement of the required underpinning knowledge and key skills will be accomplished through contextualising key skills and adopting a highly practical approach.
Assessment Assessment of the programme is an integral part of the learning process. Varied assessment methods are employed. The learning process is completed by providing students with feedback that is both formative and summative in nature.
Programme Learning Outcomes 1. Use modern computer systems and computer networks in the workplace

2. Use multimedia systems and web development to satisfy requirements

3. Use programming skills and database manipulation techniques

4. Apply ICT knowledge and skills independently.

Core Study Units
  • Computer Networks
  • Website Design and Development
  • Computer Systems
  • Programming
  • Computer Graphics
  • Database Design and Development
  • Maltese
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Personal Development
  • Information Technology
  • Science and Technology
Specialist Units
Supplementary Units
Supporting Units
Optional Units
Progress After Completion
  • MCAST Advanced Diploma in IT (Computer Systems and Networks)
  • MCAST Advanced Diploma in IT (End User Support)
  • MCAST Advanced Diploma in IT (Multimedia Software Development)
  • MCAST Advanced Diploma in IT (Software Development)
Career Opportunities